Trees Die Too…

Neither Rob or I know why some of these madrone trees suddenly die. It’s as if they grow to a certain height and say, “Well that’s it for me. I’m going to just close my eyes for a bit. I’m tired.” I’m trying to create a defendable fire break where the new house will sit in the coming months.

Years of drought have left the forest tinder dry and apparently the past winter’s rain wasn’t enough to saturate the soil. There is one thing that grows real well in this earth and it’s poison oak. Small clusters of the plant are all over the place and there is no possible way to avoid it. The area around my eyes is starting to burn a bit so the red rash will soon follow. This too will pass

 

3 thoughts on “Trees Die Too…

Leave a Reply

