Delta Bought Western Airlines…

Does anyone remember Wally Bird, that yellow bird that would hitch a ride on the tail wing and say, “It’s the only way to fly!” Okay I’m dating myself but when I was a kid, I loved that bird.

I guess in the 1970’s pizza was a big thing. Western was bought by Delta Airlines and soon thereafter, Wally Bird ceased to be. I find it interesting that the voice of Wally Bird was not that of veteran actor Jim Backus but Mr. Backus did indeed utter those famous words in the movie It’s a Mad Mad Mad World… Woohoo, we’re boarding…. This too will pass

One thought on “Delta Bought Western Airlines…

Leave a Reply

