A Hard Nose Drill Sargent…

When I showed up on John’s crew five years ago, he came up to me and said, “Are we going to have any Union problems?” I replied, “No John but that depends on if you start any. If you do then yeah we will.” Over the pass 35 and a half years, I’ve out lasted many supervisors and when I was an union steward I gave them nothing but grief…
I’m much more mellow now but I wasn’t always that way. I’ve had second line managers yelling at me to get out of their offices only to later have their bosses tell them to apologize to me with their heads down… One such manager showed up to the garage looking to change the world… He came up to me and said, “Hey you’re Mexican. Where’s the closest Taco Bell?” A few weeks later his director had him bow his head while he said, “If this man ever says anything like that to you. I’ll fire him on the spot.”

Back to John, he’s tough but he’s tough on everyone and he knows the job. I don’t really respect managers who rule yet haven’t a clue what the cable color code is or have never been in a manhole. John and I have a respect for each other and if he asks why I was taking an extra few minutes at break he knows my standard answer is, “Uncontrollable Diarrhea.” It’s a running joke, he covers my ass and I help him out. You might say it’s a working relationship… This too will pass  

Leave a Reply

