Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid

This afternoon I watched an epic Western and I can’t quite figure out what makes it so good.  Maybe it’s all the one liners in the movie that make it great, like when Struthers Martin says, “You’re both morons. I’ve got morons working for me.” How about the scene where they awkwardly ask the bandits in broken Spanish for the sack of money back? It’s as if you’re watching The Treasure of The Sierra Madre with Humphrey Bogart with smart ass comments.

Another great one liner is when Sundance provides coverfire while Butch gets to the horses for ammo. Sundance kills many of the police from all different angles and positions. They get back together and Butch says, “That was some lousy coverfire.” I wish I could write script dialogue like that, a man can dream can’t he. I love it also for the soundtrack by Burt Bacharach and yes some of the songs and tunes seem not to go with the movie but they do very subtly.  Check it out… This too will pass

9 thoughts on “Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid

  1. I loved it when Paul Newman laughs at Robert Redford as they are sitting on the cliff deciding whether or not to jump into the river below. Robert Redford says “I can’t swim.” Paul Newman laughs and says “are you crazy? The fall will probably kill you!” (At least I think I remember correctly. I only saw it once in 1968.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

