Words…

I walked in to find Toonce sprawled on the couch last night. I immediately said, “What did you do today while was working? Were you out with your friends?” He meowed softly. I wasn’t going to put up his meowing. I kept hounding him with, “Who took the burrs out of your fur and who took you to the doctors when you were sick?” Your ego always has you bring up everything you have done for them. He meowed even louder. 

At one point, he went to the door and took one single claw and placed it on the screen door fabric. I said, “Don’t you dare shred that screen.” He slowly began to move his paw in a downward movement. I yelled out, “Stop! You go out the door and we’re done!” He kept meowing. My ego needed to get the last punch in, so I added, “That’s right. See if I care!” He left and I slammed the door closed. 

A few minutes later he was scratching at the door. I opened the door and there he was with his tail between his legs. Wait, his tail is always between his legs come to think of it. Anyway, it was then I realized he had no cat box to use. I had to remind myself, “Cats don’t have egos, ulterior motives or hidden agendas. So I guess it was all my ego…” This too will pass

One thought on “Words…

Leave a Reply

