Why Did I Volunteer?

The next few hours will try any man’s soul. At one point I said to myself, “You’re going to earn your money today. I hope Toonce at least stays dry today.” I pulled up to the garage to be met by an early crew person coming out of the garage. He yelled out of his personal truck, “I’m out of here. I’m going home to hear the Raider game. I don’t need this!”

Ed was already in the crew room putting on his rain gear. “Hey Juan. We’re taking it easy today!” That’s his usual refrain but he ends up doing more than he needs to do. I replied, “Ok be safe Ed. There’s a lot of hazards out there. Don’t rush.” He promised he wouldn’t but he tends to be quite hung-ho and anxiety rules his behavior. 

I’m working all this overtime to build up my paid Oakland Family Leave time. I blew a lot of my vacation time helping someone who needed a little help in March and call me foolish but I’d do it again. Anyway, at 9:30pm on the 21st, intend to be departing on Delta Flight 2240 non-stop to JFK to see my little family. I bought Josh a ticket from LAX to JFK so he can spend the holiday with us. It all works out somehow. Here comes grandpa, Baby Hunter. This too will pass

6 thoughts on “Why Did I Volunteer?

Leave a Reply

