Thanks but No Thanks…

I received the bing from my phone saying, “You can check in now!” Why they want you to check in 24 hours in advance is beyond me? I pressed the appropriate keys and the app said, “You are checked in!” I viewed my seat and also viewed how many vacant seats were in Business Class. I wondered why there were so many and if I could upgrade into one of them.

After a six minute wait, a voice came on the line, “Hello Mr. Juan. How may I assist you, wait for response from customer.” I told him I might be interested in upgrading my seat. He replied, “That is good to hear ask him how his day is going.” I knew he was reading off a script. “I can help you with that. Please hold while I check out the price.” 

After a musical rendition of Aerosmith’s Dream On on conga drums and a xylophone, he came back on the line, “Yes Mr. Juan. The price is 1779 dollars taxes included. Shall I book you?” I replied, “That’s a bit too much. Thank for your help.” He replied, “Thanks for flying from SFO to JFK with us, end conversation and call.” You’re too young to remember Wally Bird from Western Airlines, he used to say, “Business Class is the only way to fly!”  This too will pass

4 thoughts on “Thanks but No Thanks…

Leave a Reply

