Now It’s Serious! 

I was sitting in my truck when I got the second worse call a father never wants to get. The stern yet pleasant woman’s voice said, “You are receiving a call from an inmate at the San Diego County Detention Center…” I knew who was calling me and I followed the woman’s instructions on how to pay for the privilege to talk to my son.

“Dad, it’s me.” He went on to tell me how it was so unfair and how the police called their K-9 dog on him. With a 50,000 dollar bail, he won’t be going anywhere soon. He asked if I could find him a good lawyer and I told him, “You need to use the public defenders office. You’re probably better off where you are than out on the streets.” He started to tell me, it was my lack of caring that landed him there. That’s when I shut him down, “Take accountability for your actions.”

If he’s lucky they’ll see he needs psychiatric help and meds, at least he won’t be able to walk away from the facility like he did so many times before. Let me tell you this, never once did I tell him to use drugs. Never did I tell him to drink and hang out with unsavory people. I really don’t know how many times I brought up the principle of cause and effect to him. Here’s the effect of resisting arrest, assault with a deadly weapon, causing bodily injury, theft. Oh did I mention, assaulting a peace officer? It’s all bad…

I called his mom to tell her of the news. I could hear her voice break when she said, “He’ll be hurt in there.” I lied and said, “The worse he’ll get is a year in county jail not prison.” His future just got significantly gloomier and getting a job, no one will hire a felon… I’m preparing myself for the next call no father wants to get. I knew this was going to happen. This too will pass

15 thoughts on “Now It’s Serious! 

  1. I am so very sorry. This is what happens to psychiatric patients in America. Jail is their hospital. With Trump it will only get worse, but honestly it is already so bad it is appalling. In other countries, whole systems are set up to support you, your ex-wife and your son. You two wouldn’t be going it alone on his behalf against a Goliath who couldn’t care less, even when guns are used and people are killed. It is beyond appalling how we treat vulnerable people in this materialistic society.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m very sorry, Juan. I can imagine how difficult this must be for you. The county jail is probably safer than the streets and he’ll receive medical care. The stable structured environment will probably be good for him too. I hope you’ll find some peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry Juan. I know you’ve tried and tried. One of my best friends went through this with her son. When he finally ended up in prison for 3 years she was glad because she knew he was safer there. He actually made changes while he was there, and had been out now over a year and is still clean, working. I hope your sons outcome is the same. Hoping for the best for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

