Of Mice and Men

On Thursday afternoon, I plan to ask Drill Sargent J. Fortenberry, “Sir, I need to be excused from work detail Sir!” Alright I won’t say it like that but I’ll tell him I need three hours of Oakland paid family leave time. I’ll then jump in my car and head down to San Diego, it should take me 8 hours to make the trek. 

Everything happens for a reason and there’s a reason for everything. The other day I was looking at my Best Western points balance. I said to myself, “When will you use those 78,000 points?” Bingo, three nights in a Best Western Plus hotel, a short distance from the court house. 

I’ll be there for his arraignment and then the next day, I’ll attempt to pay a video visit with him. A video visit? Don’t ask me but that’s what they offer. I intend on seeing him and who really knows when the next time we’ll see each other. If I can’t see him on Saturday then Sunday will hopefully be the day to visit with him. This feels like some sort of bad dream I just can’t wake up from… This too will pass

6 thoughts on “Of Mice and Men

  1. Good luck. Why are you going alone? Take his mom with you and he may be calmer. I hope all goes well. I’m sure you have no idea what to expect. I hope he’s already getting meds or some help. This may be the best thing for him. I hope so, for all of your sakes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

