The End Is Near…

As predicted, Toonce has all but stopped eating. His cat yums sit untouched and he’s starting to look a bit thin. Oh he’s still quite loving but I sense he’s rapidly going down hill. Yesterday he had a coughing bout which took a toll on him. He stretched his neck forward and that’s exactly what the vet said he would do towards the end…

I’ve had to put many a cat down but I won’t be there for this one, I just can’t do it. Last night as I was laying in Petaluma Valley’s emergency room, I remembered back 27 years ago when my mother lay dying just down the hall. I wasn’t that upset, infact I was so out of touch with my body and feelings that I comforted the doctor who broke the news that she had died. Weird I know. 

I was taught from a young age that it’s only the body and as Sri Ramakrishna once said, and I’m paraphrasing, “It’s like hanging up a coat on a coat rack.” I still believe it yet it hurts to see your cat go. I’m not going to keep his ashes nor stuff him. That would be pointless. So, exon Wednesday I will have my friend checked out and the vet will tell me as to his ability to go on… this too will pass

18 thoughts on “The End Is Near…

  1. Juan. I can’t stand it. I just can’t. I’m so sorry. I love him so much. I’m so, so sorry for you and sweet Toonce. I spread the ashes of my cats in lovely spots. I can’t have any more, just Emily because I don’t have any of my heart left.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

