My Friend Is Dying…

I don’t know how else to say it. He was my furry friend and I will miss his purr. I knew his days were numbered per the vet’s x-ray but I didn’t think it would come this fast. One day Mr. Toonce was eating and then he just stopped. I’m actually glad I’m leaving town tomorrow, otherwise I might just lose it. 

It’s 10:24pm as I write this post and if he’s to go, I hope it’s tonight in my arms. He doesn’t like car rides and I rather not have his final hours terrified. I sense he’s near the end, he waited for me to come home this evening. No one wants to die alone. I’m holding his paw and typing this on my phone…

Every once in a while I softly say, “I love you Toonce!” I’ve been a caretaker to many a cat but of all of them, he had a human personality. Oh, don’t get me wrong, he’s bit me on occasion and scratched me but he was a cat… If there is such a thing as reincarnation, hope we meet up again… This too will pass

10 thoughts on “My Friend Is Dying…

  1. Oh no, so sorry to hear this! I know exactly how you feel! One of my cats, now almost 19 years old, became real sick a while back, miraculously recovered though and started eating again.. But the vet was very clear in saying: Next time he gets this sick… he would be better off being put to sleep… so I know I have borrowed time with my old Mr. Cat… I know how much Toonce means to you and he seems like a great cat and friend. I can only hope he stays around for a bit more and that you get to see each other again in the life after this, if there is such a thing. Take care of you and Toonce! 🌸

    Like

Leave a Reply

