Life Giving Donuts

It’s 6:47am and now it’s really really really snowing! I’m totally not prepared for this weather. I can’t imagine working in this endless whiteness. The news people said, “Stay home if you don’t have to go out.” I said to myself, “I’ll make my way to Dunkin Donuts a half mile away.” 

I put on my loafers and got to the car. Note To Self: do not wear loafers in snowy weather. I thought I had brought some cold weather boots last time. The car windshield had three inches of snow on it. After turning on the wipers, I backed out into the unknown. There could have been a semi truck behind me and I couldn’t have seen it. 

Chris calls and says he needs to stay at the store until the day manager shows up. I began to slowly drive down the hill to the main drag. Let me say this, snow and hills don’t go together. The car starts to skid and I put my foot on the brake, nothing. It kept on going. Thank God there was no cross traffic. I swear I almost wet myself…

I then followed a NJ Transit Bus till I found what I thought was the driveway for the Dunkin Donuts. I was off my 10 feet and I hit the curb. Meanwhile cars are honking at me as if I thought it would be a good idea to park at 90 degrees to the curb in the middle of Allwood Blvd. I backed up and pulled into the parking lot. 

I’ve made friends with the little Hindu woman behind the counter at the Dunkin Donuts. She says, “You are not dressed for a winterstorm.” The last time we spoke I had told her I had been to Amarnath in the Himalayas when I was young and since then she likes me. By the way, the place was empty for only a moron would go out in this weather. I got my prized donuts and headed back. 

I thought it would be good to get some milk at the Stop and Shop but that idea ended when I pulled into the empty parking lot. The sign on the door said, “Closed! Storm.” That hill I nearly was killed on going down was equally bad heading up. I had no traction and needed to find a alternate route. Finally I make it back and Roberta said, “What took you so long?” This too will pass

3 thoughts on “Life Giving Donuts

  1. “What took you so long?” Geez! Some people just don’t get it, do they? Yep, you forgot your boots and your bear coat and raccoon hat. What’s with you, Cali man?

    Like

  2. Chicago is FLAT. I’m happy about that in the winter. Skidding and sliding all over the street is bad enough without hills. And cars do not stop because you put the brake on…they slide, or do donuts, and all kinds of other dangerous and amazingly fun things. I don’t actually know why any of us live where winter spends it’s time. I really don’t.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

