You Must Be Joking…

Does anyone besides me think 3600 dollars for a one bedroom apartment is a bit high? Oh, the manager did say it came with a parking space and access to the workout room. It turns out, my customer was a secretary with Uber in San Francisco, nothing high up as she said. 

We talked about the rising cost of rent in the East Bay and of how Uber is building their new headquarters in Downtown Oakland. We both laughed how the building was at one point going to be the first in the country marijuana mall. At one point I asked her, “Do you mind if I ask you your salary?” She replied, “150,000 and my supervisor who’s an administrative assistant makes double what I make.” 

I don’t know how high rents will get in Emeryville in the near future but I do know two things: a secretary making 150,000 is unbelievable and an administrative assistant getting 300,000 is even better. I guess Uber is doing just fine. Oh she did also say, the company paid her first month’s rent… This too will pass

17 thoughts on “You Must Be Joking…

  1. That’s crazy! $600 for a one bedroom is the going price around here…You can go a little bit lower, but then you’re basically going to have to live in a broken-down closet, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Prices in Chicago are like that, depending on the location. Could be much higher. It can cost $1,500 to 2,000 to rent a parking spot in some places. As I said, location is everything. Inflation is not our friend. Our taxes are astronomical, that’s why people are living in droves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

