It’s Not What You Make, It’s What You Keep…

My father was a very frugal man to say the least. He had no credit cards and if his water heater died, well he’d just waited till he had saved up enough to buy a new one. Never did he worry about minimum payments, maxed out cards nor limits. There’s a peace of mind when it comes to living in a cash only lifestyle. 

Today was payday, in fact it was the eight payday of the year and as of now I’ve made more money than some people make in a year. It sounds great huh? It isn’t. First of all, in federal, state and local taxes, there went 25,000 dollars. Then there are the hands that know that today is payday. Then there’s the new mortgage, car payment and AMEX wants what’s owed them. 

I think it’s truly a vicious circle I’m in. If I’m lucky I’ll be hit by a bus and I can only hope it happens on the job because then everyone who counts on me, will get something. Someone once said to me, “Thanks for being there for me. When it’s your turn, I’ll be there for you!” I haven’t heard from them in quite sometime. That’s okay, it is what it is, until it ain’t anymore. This too will pass

2 thoughts on “It’s Not What You Make, It’s What You Keep…

  1. It’s difficult not to be materially driven and many live beyond their means. After experiencing bankruptcy many years ago, my husband and I have committed to a no debt (other than mortgage) existence. It works, but takes discipline.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

